All roles and parts in musicals and operettas are cast by way of the audition process. Casting decisions are based on the ability presented during the audition and the individual’s availability for the rehearsal schedule. Those wishing to audition are requested to be prepared to sing a song of their choice. An accompanist is typically provided. Depending on the show, some dancing skills are required and group auditions with the choreographer are then required.

One need not be a member of Musical Theatre Productions in order to audition, but if chosen for the cast, membership is required. Cast members are also expected to assist with poster distribution and sometimes other forms of publicity, ticket sales, etc.

See upcoming auditions below:

Song for a New World

Music and lyrics by Jason Robert Brown
Stage and Musical Direction: Angela Southern

March 1st 1-4:30pm
March 4th 6-8:30pm

Landon Library, 167 Wortley Rd., London ON

Please prepare a short song. An accompanist will be provided. Cast of 16. We are looking for strong vocalists.

To book an appointment or for more information email:

Jason Robert Brown's Songs For A New World comes to life on stage at the McManus Theatre June 20-28.

“It’s about one moment. It’s about hitting the wall and having to make a choice, take a stand, or turn around and go back.” A driving, exquisitely crafted score runs the gamut of today’s popular music and is a perfect end to MTP's 25th Anniversary Season.

Character Breakdown

MAN #1 - D to High C
MAN #2 - Low F - High A flat
WOMAN #1 - Low G - High F (2 octaves)
WOMAN #2 - Low F - High F (2 octaves)

In this production we will be casting each character separately for a cast size of approximately 16.


Act I

  • "Opening Sequence: The New World" – Company

  • "On the Deck of a Spanish Sailing Ship, 1492" – Man 1 and Company

  • "Just One Step" – Woman 2

  • "I'm Not Afraid of Anything" – Woman 1

  • "The River Won't Flow" – Company

  • "Transition I" – Woman 1

  • "Stars and the Moon" – Woman 2

  • "She Cries" – Man 2

  • "The Steam Train" – Man 1 and Company

Act II

  • "The World Was Dancing" – Man 2 and Company

  • "Surabaya-Santa" – Woman 2

  • "Christmas Lullaby" – Woman 1

  • "King of the World" – Man 1

  • "I'd Give It All for You" – Man 2 and Woman 1

  • "Transition II" – Man 1

  • "The Flagmaker, 1775" – Woman 2

  • "Flying Home" – Man 1 and Company

  • "Final Transition: The New World" – Company

  • "Hear My Song" – Company

To listen to songs from the show, click HERE.

Subscribe to MTP mailing list