bye bye birdie07.jpg
bye bye birdie07.jpg




Sweeney Audition Banner.png

SWEENEY TODD: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

This Tony-winning musical by Stephen Sondheim and Hugh Wheeler follows Sweeney Todd, an unjustly exiled barber, who returns to depression-era London, seeking vengeance against the lecherous judge who framed him and ravaged his young wife. The road to revenge leads Todd to Mrs. Lovett, a resourceful proprietress of a failing pie shop, above which, he opens a new barber practice. Mrs. Lovett's luck sharply shifts when Todd's thirst for vengeance inspires the integration of an ingredient into her meat pies that has the people of London lining up... and the carnage has only just begun!


SWEENEY TODD’s rehearsal schedule has yet to be finalized. Full rehearsals will begin in September, with individual character rehearsals happening throughout August. Technical rehearsals will take place from November 24th to November 27th (evening).

Performances will run from November 28th - Dec 7/8th at the McManus Stage at The Grand Theatre.

AUDITIONS by appointment


Sunday, June 23 from 2:30 pm to 8:30 pm

Monday, June 24 from 5:30 pm to 9:00 pm

Tuesday, June 25 from 5:30 pm to 9:00pm

Thursday, June 27 from 5:30 pm to 9:00 pm

Please be available for CALLBACKS on Wednesday, July 3 from 6:00 pm to 10:00 pm


  • Please prepare one minute song or selection of a song from a musical that shows your range as a singer and an actor. Please bring sheet music in the correct key. An accompanist will be provided.

  • Please be prepared to do a short vocal range test and read some selections from the script 


Musical Theatre Productions & Allswell Productions are seeking performers of all ages (8 years and up) and all types to bring this musical thriller to the stage.

Sweeney Todd (Vocal range Gb4 to F2) - A wrongfully imprisoned barber seeking to right the wrongs committed against him. He is Johanna's father, singularly focussed on taking bloody revenge. Our story's tormented protagonist.

Mrs Lovett (Vocal range E5 to G3) - An entrepreneurial and amoral meat pie shop owner. She falls in love with Todd and turns his desire for revenge into a profitable business venture.

Anthony Hope (Vocal range F4 to Bb2) - A naive and youthful sailor returning to London. He helps Todd return to London and unexpectedly falls in love with Johanna.

Johanna (Vocal range A5 to Bb3) - A spritely girl, full of innocence, constantly yearning for freedom. Todd's long-lost daughter and Turpin's ward.

Tobias Ragg (Vocal range Ab4 to Bb2, age 10 to 16) - A poor youngster apprenticed to Pirelli. He finds a surrogate family in Todd and Lovett.

Beggar Woman (Vocal Range F5 to Ab3) - A deranged and schizophrenic woman who harbors a dark, surprising secret.

Judge Turpin (Vocal range Gb4 to E2) - A lecherous public official who portrays himself as a sanctimonious authoritarian. He takes advantage of his position in the city and is responsible for imprisoning Todd.

The Beadle (Vocal range D4 to D3) - A pompous public official. He is deeply loyal to the corrupt Turpin.

Adolfo Pirelli (Vocal range C5 to B2) - A flamboyant Italian rival barber; a charlatan with a secret past.


Jonas Fogg - The owner of Fogg's Asylum. He sells the hair of madmen to wigmakers.



Inmates of Fogg’s Asylum

Please check this page again for auditions for future productions. Please click on any of the social media channels below to receive advance notice of these opportunities and other MTP events.

MTP is committed to providing opportunities for diverse performers. Artists of all backgrounds, ethnicities, genders, are encouraged to audition for all MTP productions.

Follow us on our social media channels for audition updates and other opportunities to be involved in our future productions and special events!

You can also subscribe to our e-Newsletter here.




Musical Theatre Productions welcomes anyone who is interested in musical theatre or a supporter of the local arts community. We encourage you to become a member in order to receive advance and up to date notice of all MTP auditions, shows, partner news and special events. Memberships are $25 and are valid for one year.

All participants in our productions (artistic team, production team, cast) are required to be members of MTP. There are four simple ways to obtain or renew your MTP membership:

1. Online with a credit card at
2. By Interac e-transfer.  Email $25 to with the following information
Password Hint: Membership Payment
Password: mtplondon
Comments: Your email address

3. Mail a cheque to Musical Theatre Productions, 1195 Dundas St., Unit 5, London, ON, N5W 3A9
4. Contact  to make arrangements to pay in person.


Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is elected by the members of Musical Theatre Productions at the Annual General Meeting held each year in September. Although the Board’s complement is a minimum of seven (7) and a maximum of thirteen (13), it presently consists of nine (9) members. The terms are staggered with each newly elected member serving a three-year term unless he/she is simply completing the balance of the term of a member who has left office.

The Executive is chosen by the Board at its first meeting following the Annual General Meeting. The President, Vice-President and Secretary are each appointed for a one year term while the Treasurer is appointed indefinitely and continues to serve at the pleasure of the Board.

Meetings of the Board are held on the third Monday of each month with additional meetings called as required. Board members who are not in attendance at three consecutive meetings, without good reason, may be removed from the Board.

For any comments and questions, please feel free to contact us.


Current Board Members

Rick Smith

Vice President
Sue McKone

Andrew Rethazi-Recchia

Nicole Newell

Past President, Publicity Director
Joe Recchia

Season Planning Director
Cassandra DiFelice

Membership Engagement Director

Volunteer Director
Katie Harris

Fundraising Director
Evan Jones

Facilities Directors
Bob Gerow
Tom Smyth

Board Liaisons
Ben Leibovitz
Brian Whitwham

Founding Members (1988)

The following persons were responsible for the formation of ‘London Musical Theatre’, in 1988 and for producing our first show – ‘Evita’:

Kevin Bice, Suzan Bingemann, Noreen DeShane, Eleanor Ender, Art Fidler, Vicky Fuss, John Gerry, John Hart, James Hill, Roger Macaulay, Ann MacMillan, Deborah Mitchell, Stephen Mitchell, Alec Richmond.


future season proposals

future season proposals

MTP is a volunteer-run organization providing opportunities for participation in all aspects of musical theatre productions for people in London and the surrounding community.

Applications for our 2019-2020 Season are now closed. Please check back with us in Fall 2019 for the opening of our 2020-2021 Season application process.

MTP is always interested in receiving applications from new and experienced teams and individuals interesting in mounting productions in our future seasons. Please review the documents below from our last proposal process for guidelines, timelines and example presentations.

2019-2020 season proposal documents

1) Information Sheet

2) Process Timeline

3) Application Form

4) Presentation Guidelines

5) Sample Presentation